

Comhairle Contae Thiobraid Árann Oifigi Cheantar Bardasach Dhurlais, Ascaill an Chaisleáin, Durlas Co Thiobraid Árann

Tipperary County Council, Thurles Municipal District Office, Castle Avenue, Thurles, Co Tipperary E41 KA44 t 0818 06 5000 e customarservice @tipperarycoco.ie

tipperarycoco.ie

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE THURLES MUNICIPAL DISTRICT WHICH WAS HELD IN THE TIPPERARY COUNTY COUNCIL DISTRICT OFFICES, CASTLE AVENUE, THURLES ON 19th JUNE, 2023

Present:

1.14

Councillor Peggy Ryan, Cathaoirleach, presided.

Councillors Noel Coonan, Seamus Hanafin, Shane Lee, Michéal Lowry, Eddie Moran, Jim Ryan, Sean Ryan and Michael Smith.

Also Present:	Joe MacGrath,	Chief Executive
	Eamonn Lonergan	District Director
	Liam Brett	Senior Engineer
	Thomas Duffy	District Engineer
	Jim Ryan	Executive Engineer
	Enda Walsh	Executive Engineer
	Sharon Scully	Meetings Administrator
	Orla McDonnell	Staff Officer

Address by the Outgoing Cathaoirleach.

The Outgoing Cathaoirleach welcomed everyone to the Annual Meeting. She expressed her satisfaction at the successful projects that were completed during the year and that there will be more projects to come next year. She acknowledged the validity of the projects undertaken and the fact that there were no empty vessel projects.

The Members congratulated the Cathaoirleach on the very professional and fair way she conducted business during the year. They complimented her on her level of commitment to the role and the huge level of work that was undertaken during her tenure.

The Members also thanked the outgoing Leas Cathaoirleach, Councillor Noel Coonan.

1. Election of Cathaoirleach.

The outgoing Cathaoirleach invited nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach.



Comhairle Contae Thiobraid Árann, Oifigi Cheantar Bardasach Dhurlais, Ascaill an Chaisleáin, Durlas Co, Thiobraid Árann Tipperary County Council, Thurles Municipal District Office, Castle Avenue, Thurles, Co. Tipperary E41 KA44

t 0818 06 5000 e customerservice @tipperarycoco.ie

tipperarycoco.ie

It was proposed by Councillor M. Smith and seconded by Councillor S. Hanafin:

"That Councillor Seán Ryan be elected Cathaoirleach of the Thurles Municipal District for the ensuing year."

As there were no other nominations for the position, Councillor S. Ryan was deemed to be elected as Cathaoirleach for the ensuing year.

Councillor P. Ryan congratulated Councillor S. Ryan on his election and she vacated the Chair.

The other Members congratulated Councillor S. Ryan on his election and wished him well for the coming year.

Address of Incoming Cathaoirleach.

The Incoming Cathaoirleach thanked his proposer and seconder. He paid tribute to the outgoing Cathaoirleach and thanked the outgoing Leas Cathaoirleach. In his address he spoke about the following;-

- How there are some great projects in the Project Pipeline for the District, in particular, the Littleton Labyrinth where work is expected to commence in August this year with a completion date in March 2024.
- How the historical relationship between the Council and Bord na Mona will be a gamechanger for tourism in the area and will have a hugely beneficial knock-on effect on villages and small businesses.
- The importance of accessing more funding under the Just Transition Fund for the Bushcraft Centre at the Littleton Labyrinth and also for the 2nd phase of the Labyrinth.
- Acknowledged the major projects in progress in the MD, namely; Thurles Market Square, Liberty Square Phase 2, Templemore Town Hall and Roscrea Town Centre First.
- Completed Council housing schemes, in particular Ned Hayes Park, Two Mile Borris and Dun Muilleann, Thurles and nine homes in Moyne that will be completed shortly.
- He is looking forward to working with the District Director, District Administrator and District Engineer, Staff and Members and would hope to hold the December Monthly meeting in Littleton Primary School.

The Members and Officials congratulated Councillor S. Ryan on his election and wished him well in the year ahead.

The Chief Executive congratulated Councillor S. Ryan on his election and wished him every success in the role. He acknowledged Councillor S. Ryan's commitment to his role as a Councillor and stated that there are some great



а.

.

Comhairle Contae Thiobraid Árann Oifigi Choantar Bardasach Dhurlais, Ascaill an Chaisleáin, Durlas Co Thiobraid Árann Tipperary County Council, Thurles Municipal District Office, Castle Avenue, Thurles, Co. Tipperary E41 KA44

t 0818 06 5000 e customerservice @tipperarycoco.ie

tipperarycoco.ie

projects in the pipeline such as with Fáilte Ireland under the Just Transition Fund.

He thanked outgoing Cathaoirleach, Councillor P. Ryan for all her work during the year and how it had been a steep learning curve for her since being co-opted onto the Council. He said that Thurles MD is a busy area and how we are living in demanding times and thanked Councillor Ryan for her professionalism and commitment during her time as Cathaoirleach.

2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach.

The Cathaoirleach invited nominations for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach.

It was proposed by Councillor S. Hanafin and seconded by Councillor M. Lowry:

"That Councillor S. Lee be elected Leas Cathaoirleach of the Thurles Municipal District for the ensuing year."

There being no further nominations, the Cathaoirleach declared Councillor S. Lee elected Leas Cathaoirleach.

Councillor S. Lee thanked his proposer and seconder and the Members for electing him Leas Cathaoirleach.

The Chief Executive and Members congratulated Councillor Lee on his election as Leas Cathaoirleach and wished him well in the role.

This concluded the business of the Meeting.

SIGNED:	DATE:	17 th July, 2023.
CATHAOIRLEACH		
SIGNED: MEETINGS ADMINISTRATOR	_ DATE:	17 th July, 2023.