MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF SPECIAL MEETING OF TIPPERARY COUNTY COUNCIL HELD IN GREAT NATIONAL BALLYKISTEEN GOLF HOTEL, CO. TIPPERARY AT 1.30 PM ON MONDAY 21ST JANUARY, 2019

Present

Cllr. Mattie Ryan, Cathaoirleach.

Cllrs. Ambrose S. Anglim, M; Bonfield, F; Bourke, J; Bourke. K; Browne, M; Bugler, P; Carey, C; Carroll, J; Darcy, G; Doran, D; Dunne, D; English, P; FitzGerald, MI; Fitzgerald, M; Goldsboro, I; Hanafin, S; Hannigan, J; Hogan, Hanna Hourigan, M; Kennedy, R; Leahy, D; Lonergan, M; Lowry, M; McGrath, H; McLoughlin, L; Molloy, R; Moloney, A; Moran, E; Morris, S; Murphy, Marie; Murphy, MI; O'Meara, K; O'Meara, MI; Ryan, S; Smith, M; Wood, T.

Also Present

J. MacGrath, Chief Executive, K. Cashen, P Slattery, M. Shortt, S. Carr, S. Keating, Directors of Service, D. Holland/A Director of Services, G. Walsh, Meetings Administrator.

Apologies

Cllr: J. Crosse, J. Ryan

Special Guests

Members of the Soloheadbeg Ambush Centenary Committee, Dr. Des Murnane, family representatives of Mr. Pierse McCan, Seamus BBourke and P.J. Moloney.

Welcome

Cathaoirleach Cllr. Mattie Ryan welcomed all to the special meeting convened .to commemorate the first sitting of Dáil Éireann, held on this day 100 years ago, noting that the venue for the meeting had been chosen due to its proximity to the Soloheadbeg Ambush Site. He welcomed family representatives of the Tipperary elected T.D.'s, members of the Soloheadbeg Ambush Centenary Committee and Dr. Des Murnane to the meeting.

The Cathaoirleach outlined details of the political landscape in Ireland at this time. The general elections held on 14 December 1918, were the first in 8 years with a new democratic electorate where almost all men over 21 could vote, while the franchise was extended to women for the first time, subject to a property qualification. The result of the election was that in Ireland a whole new political reality was born: 73 of Ireland's 105 seats, including the 4 Tipperary seats, went to Sinn Fein, which had stood on a policy of withdrawing from the British parliament and establishing a new and independent constituent assembly: Dáil Éireann. Joseph MacDonogh was elected for Tipperary North, Seamus Burke was elected for Tipperary Mid., P.J. Moloney was elected for Tipperary South and Pierce McCan was elected for Tipperary East. The Dáil's first meeting marked the beginning of a period of civil disobedience in Ireland as part of the campaign for independence. Local government authorities were fundamental to the success of this campaign.

In commemorating the centenary of the first Dáil Éireann, the Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Mattie Ryan asked members to remember those MP's who represented Tipperary, and celebrate the role of the people of Tipperary and their local government authorities in supporting and establishing an independent, national government in Ireland.

Cllr. M. Ryan proposed the following motion which was seconded by Cllr. Ml Murphy

"That Tipperary County Council, acting on behalf of the citizens of Tipperary, hereby acknowledge and commemorate the centenary of the founding of thefirst Dáil on 21st January, 1919 with the holding of a Special Meeting in the Parish of Soloheadbeg, Co. Tipperary on the centenary date Monday 21st January, 2019, recognising the contribution of elected Tipperary members Deputies Seamus Burke, T.D., Joseph MacDonagh, T.D., PJ Moloney, T.D. and Pierse McCan, T.D. to the first Dáil."

Nominated members speaking on the motion on behalf of their party/group, were honoured to join in acknowledging and commemorating the centenary. They acknowledged that period in history which had been a crucial step for independence and when brave decisions had been taken. It was fitting to honour the four T.D.'s who had been elected to represent Tipperary.

Members congratulated the Soloheadbeg Ambush Centenary Committee on the commemoration events held in Soloheadbeg. The events were carried out in a dignified and respectful manner and showcased what a rural community could achieve by working together.

Mr. Joe MacGrath extended a warm welcome to the families of the four T.D.'s elected in 1918 and to the committee members of Soloheadbeg. It was a significant day, a day to remember, reflect and commemorate. The day that started a chain of event that would forever change history. The four T.D.'s elected bestowed a gift of democracy which the 40 members today carried on by representing their communities and the values of Local Government.

Mr. MacGrath joined in congratulating the Soloheadbeg Ambush Centenary Committee for the organisation of a solemn, respectful and inclusive commemoration event.

The Cathaoirleach invited Dr. Des Murnane to make a presentation to the members on the history of that time.

Dr. Murnane, noting that he was honoured to be part of such a historic event, gave an informed talk on the history and parliamentary politics, both nationally and locally leading up to the general election in 1918. He outlined the Home Rule structure that operated in Ireland from 1873 to its rejection in 1918 and gave a profile of the MP's that represented Tipperary during this time. He noted that only by applying that time frame to our own lives do we really appreciate just how long drawn out was the whole Home Rule Saga.

He described the political atmosphere in Tipperary leading up to the 1918 elections, noting that this was the first general election to be held after the Representation of the People Act 1918, the first election in which women over the age of 30, and all men over the age of 21, could vote. Previously, all women and most working-class men had been excluded from voting. He outlined the process on polling day, 14th December, 1918 and the counting of votes which did not commence until the 28th December, 1918.

Dr Murnane concluded his talk by reading an extract from a manuscript written by

P.J. Moloney during his incarceration in England prior to his election to Dáil Éireann in 1918, noting that what we all need to remember is the sacrifices that the men elected in 1918 had made for their country.
The Cathaoirleach and members thanked Dr. Murnane for his informative presentation and the Cathaoirleach presented him with a token of appreciation.
The Cathaoirleach then presented invited family members present with a scroll marking the special meeting and the resolution passed by members.
The meeting then concluded.
Signed/Cathaoirleach.
Date:
Signed/ Ger Walsh, Meetings Administrator.
 Date: