## Minutes of Special Meeting of Tipperary-Cahir-Cashel Municipal District hosted in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices, Tipperary Town and held remotely on Wednesday 12<sup>th</sup> June 2024 at 4pm for Christy Kinahan, former Tipperary Town Councillor and Tipperary County Councillor

## In attendance:

- Cllr. Declan Burgess, Cathaoirleach
- Cllr. Micheál Anglim
- Cllr. John Crosse
- Cllr. Mary Hanna Hourigan
- Cllr. Roger Kennedy
- Mr. Tom Hayes, former Minister of State
- Ms. Anna Tuohy Halligan, former Councillor and Mayor of the Tipperary Town Council
- Mr. Michael McGuire, former Tipperary County Councillor
- Mr. Billy Bourke, former Deputy Mayor of Tipperary Town Council
- Mr. Patsy Tynan, former Councillor of the Tipperary Town UDC
- Ms. Anne Allen, former Councillor of Tipperary Town UDC
- Mr. Peadar O'Donnell, former Councillor of Tipperary Town Council
- Mr. Joe Donovan, former Tipperary County Councillor
- Mr. Brian Rafferty, former Councillor of Tipperary Town UDC
- Mr. Ruaidhr Devitt, former Councillor of Tipperary Town UDC
- Mr. John O'Heney
- Ms. Sharon Kennedy, Director of Service
- Mr. Paul Murray, Senior Executive Officer, HR
- Mr. Anselm McGowan, District Administrator
- Ms. Verena McGrath, Assistant Staff Officer

## **Apologies:**

- Cllr. Michael FitzGerald
- Cllr. Marie Murphy
- Cllr. Andy Moloney
- Cllr. Mairin McGrath
- Cllr. Tony Black
- Cllr. Annemarie Ryan (Shiner)
- Ms. Sinead Carr, A/Chief Executive
- Deputy Mattie McGrath, TD
- Deputy Martin Browne, TD
- Deputy Jackie Cahill, TD
- Senator Garret Ahearn
- David Coleman, Administrative Officer, Corporate
- Clare Curley, Former Director of Services
- Ned O'Connor, Former County Manager, South Tipperary County Council

Jennifer Withero, Administrative Officer, Limerick City and County Council Martin Nolan, former District Administrator

The Cathaoirleach Cllr. Declan Burgess, opened the meeting by welcoming everybody and thanking them for their attendance at this special meeting, convened to propose a vote of sympathy following the recent death of the late Mr. Christy Kinahan. This vote of sympathy was seconded by Councillor Roger Kennedy. Mr. Anselm McGowan, District Administrator, commenced the meeting with the meeting prayer.

The Cathaoirleach noted that everybody gathered at this special meeting were there to pay their respects and pay tribute to the life and legacy of the late Christy Kinahan. Cllr. Burgess highlighted the strong influence that Christy Kinahan had on young politicians and extended his condolences to Christy's family, including his daughters Siobhan and Jacqui, as well as his extended family. He recounted how Mr. Kinahan began his distinguished career in 1974 when he was first elected to the UDC. He was later elected to the South Tipperary County Council in 1991 and held the position of mayor six times during this period as well as serving on the South Tipperary Vocational Education Committee for 26 years. He asked if those present would like to pay their respects to Mr. Christy Kinahan.

## The following attendees spoke:

Ms. Anna Tuohy Halligan, former Councillor and Mayor of the Tipperary Town Council

Mr. Michael McGuire, former Tipperary County Councillor

Mr. Billy Bourke, former Deputy Mayor of Tipperary Town Council

Mr. Patsy Tynan, former Councillor of the Tipperary Town UDC

Ms. Anne Allen, former Councillor of Tipperary Town UDC

Mr. Peadar O'Donnell, former Councillor of Tipperary Town Council

Mr. Joe Donovan, former Tipperary County Councillor

Mr. Brian Rafferty, former Councillor of Tipperary Town UDC

Mr. Ruaidhr Devitt, former Councillor of Tipperary Town UDC

Mr. Tom Hayes, former Minister of State for Agriculture and Transport

Mr. Seamus Healey, former Tipperary TD

Clir. Roger Kennedy

Cllr. John Crosse

Cllr. Mary Hanna Hourigan

Cllr. Micheál Anglim

Cllr. Declan Burgess, Cathaoirleach of Tipperary-Cahir-Cashel MD

All speakers paid their respects and gave their condolences to the extended Kinahan family and friends at this very sad time. It was noted his daughters Siobhan and Jacqui's community involvement ensured that their father's legacy would continue. Jacqui received recognition for her recent election campaign.

Speakers acknowledged Mr Kinahan's excellent record as a public representative having given 36 years' service to Tipperary Town, the Council and West Tipperary. Speakers reminisced with stories from his past and he was described as a rare breed, who gave 100% of his heart to Tipperary Town and left a huge and lasting legacy of community service that will be remembered by future generations. They highlighted his skills as a great strategist, his defiant stance on issues and discussed how he was a straight talker with a quick wit. He was described as a knowledgeable colleague who stayed true to his principals and gave invaluable advice and worked diligently behind the scenes. It was said that colleagues had noted that working with Christy had enriched their working lives.

They commended his effective leadership as the Chair of the Decentralisation Committee and his pivotal role in ensuring the success of decentralisation in Tipperary Town. They highlighted Mr. Kinahan's dedication in engaging with TDs and Senators which led to the development of the Tipperary-Cahir-Cashel Municipal District's Civic Offices and the Department of Justice building which were a testament to Christy's commitment to decentralisation. This initiative which brought over €20 million into the town resulted in increased employment in the town. It was noted that he ardently supported the underprivileged and championed workers' rights. He was also remembered for his work serving on the Tipperary Vocational Education Committee and also for initiating plans/projects like the redevelopment of the Tipperary Hills, and the bypass which are still going strong. It was noted that Mr. Christy Kinahan had served with distinction, was a huge figure in Tipperary Town, and will be a great loss to his family, his community and Tipperary.

Speakers agreed that it was important to hold this special meeting to remember and acknowledge his many contributions to public life as a Councillor and public representative.

Signed/

Signed/

Cathaoirleach

Dated/ 24/06/2024

Dated/

24/06/2024

**District Administrator**