Silouette graphic representing Tipperary

Strategic Policy Committee Scheme

Local authorities publish schemes to describe how they set up and manage strategic policy committees.

Strategic Policy Committees - Minutes

Strategic Policy Committees (SPCs) are local authority committees in city and county councils whose membership includes elected councillors, representatives of business, farming interests, environmental/conservation groups, trade unions and community and voluntary members.
It is the task of the Strategic Policy Committees (SPCs), as committees of the Council, to advise and assist the Council in the formulation, development and review of policy.

The remit of the SPCs is to deal only with policy matters and as such they are strategic in nature. They have no remit in relation to routine operational matters regarding the delivery of services.
The SPC system is intended to give Councillors and relevant Sectoral Interests an opportunity for full involvement in the policy making process from the early stages.

There are currently 6 Strategic Policy Committee’s in Tipperary namely:
1. Economic Development and Enterprise
2. Housing
3. Infrastructure (to include Roads, Transportation and Water Services)
4. Planning and Emergency Services
5. Environment and Climate Action
6. Community, Culture and Library Services

Related Information

Joint Policing Committees

The Garda Siochana Act 2005 introduced the establishment of Joint Policing Committees (JPCS), whose function is ‘to serve as a forum for consultation, discussions and recommendations on matters affecting the policing of the local authority’s administrative area’. JPCs represent a collaborative approach between local authorities, An Garda Siochana and the community and voluntary sector in supporting policing and enhancing community safety.

Key specific functions of the JPC, as cited in section 36(2) of the Garda Siochana Act are:
(a) Keep under review:

Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committee - Minutes

Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committees (LTACC) were set up under the Traveller Accommodation Act, 1998 and meet quarterly or as deemed necessary by the members. Membership consists of representatives from the Travelling community, elected members, council officials and representatives from voluntary and statutory agencies. One of the main duties of the LTACC is to regularly review progress and monitor the delivery of the traveller accommodation programme.